The difference between an .ost file and a set of .pst files is that the .ost file starts as a mirror image of your folders on the Exchange Server, and works in conjunction with the Exchange Serve during synchronization. A set of .pst files, on the other hand, is simply a storage location on your hard disk or a server other than the Exchange Server.
When you work offline, you can add, delete, and modify the contents of an .ost file exactly as you would with a folder on a server. For example, you can change and move items in your offline Inbox, send messages that are placed in your offline Outbox, and read your offline public folders. In the meantime, information on the server is still processing. You continue to receive new messages in your mailbox while other users can add, delete, and change items in public folders. However, you are not be aware of these changes on the server until you connect to the network.
When you need to update the contents of the .ost file and its corresponding server folder so that they are identical, you synchronize the folders, and then continue to work offline. In Outlook 2002, this is done through Send/Receive Groups. Synchronization connects to the server through Dial-Up Networking, copy the changes made in each folder to the other folder, and then disconnect. An item that you delete from either the .ost file or the corresponding server folder is deleted from both after synchronization.
When you work offline, you can add, delete, and modify the contents of an .ost file exactly as you would with a folder on a server. For example, you can change and move items in your offline Inbox, send messages that are placed in your offline Outbox, and read your offline public folders. In the meantime, information on the server is still processing. You continue to receive new messages in your mailbox while other users can add, delete, and change items in public folders. However, you are not be aware of these changes on the server until you connect to the network.
When you need to update the contents of the .ost file and its corresponding server folder so that they are identical, you synchronize the folders, and then continue to work offline. In Outlook 2002, this is done through Send/Receive Groups. Synchronization connects to the server through Dial-Up Networking, copy the changes made in each folder to the other folder, and then disconnect. An item that you delete from either the .ost file or the corresponding server folder is deleted from both after synchronization.
Yet if the pst file is 'simply a storage location on your hard disk', wouldn't it make more sense for users to concern themselves about their ost file, especially if it
works in synchrony with the server simply by pressing Send/Receive Groups?
No comments:
Post a Comment